warped

A major factor in the lack of progress on the Imp recently has been the problems I’m having with my welding. I had an SIP Migmate 100 for about 15 years and welding with it was never a problem. I quite enjoyed it as I always got good results. In March 09 the Migmate stopped working and I ended up with a Clarke 100 EN gas/gasless machine and the results I’ve had with that have not been good. I decided I would use it throu to the end of repairing the panel I’ve been working on then by something else if I couldn’t get good with it.

As detailed in previous posts I spent many hours preparing the ‘sub panel’ for repairs trying to get the new metal to match the original corroded areas as closely as possible. The pics below may show how the repairs could have been succesfull.

I spent many hours working on the panel above trying to replicate the original corroded areas as closely as possible only for it all to be ruined by warping of the metal which I have never encountered before. The pics below will show this.

another view of distortion which occured at final stage of repairing RHS of panel

many hours spent creating perfect patch to repair end of strut but with only minimal welding it bent out of shape

 

I can now bring myself to deal with this problem as I have bought another Migmate 100 :  )  and am filled with enthusiasm thinking that in a week or so I’ll be welding away again. Tomorrow I am also starting the task of getting the shell back on four wheels again to be moved to the barn where there is a space waiting for it.

Leave a comment