tentative steps

After all the years in exile and not having any running gear on him it was great to be able to trundle the Imp out into daylight. The main purpose of this was to re-organise the space in the garage. I wanted to have him in furthest away from any wind and rain at the door and also to have the bulky engine crane and some other items accessible at the cart-door to move to the vacant space where the Imp used to be to give me maximum room in the barn.

looking surprisingly sound for its 22 years in storage. black 'Pacman' on door was joke to myself in winter 1993 when scraping black paint off

pop on repair panels at rear not removed yet on driver's side

looks OK from a distance

orange stuff on door is reamins of matress the car lay on for some time!

another shot showing various areas opened up in the style of 'Time Team' to check for origonal finish over the converted areas

strange-looking shot although this area completely standard

reasonably sound inside also

half imp shell deailed in 'half load' post some time ago

crane is going to be moved to lock up where Imp used to live to free up space in barn. half Imp will be broken down for repair panels.

2 Responses to “tentative steps”

  1. Eric Says:

    I’ve been watching your progress since your article in Impressions. The project is a worthy one.

    Suspension is looking good. Can’t wait to see how things progress as the bodywork continues.

    Any updates since March?

    Best Regards,

    Eric

    • foy9999 Says:

      Hi Eric. Well…..like most restoration projects people promise more than they end up delivering but, in this case, I think I may do the opposite as I have been unable to do any welding for over a year and this week I resolved that problem 😀 so I am dying to get back to bodywork repairs on my two car projects (the Imp and Daimler VDP). Thw last 14 months haven’t been a total waste of time tho as I have been rebuilding some old Yamaha motorcycles I have but they are on the back burner now as the Imp over-rides everything

Leave a comment